Posted by: geminigoddess | January 29, 2009

Obama Watch 2009, Meditative Insights, Bribery, and The Old Ball & Chain…

Okay, if you can’t already tell be the title, I have a lot to talk about tonight.  I am just brimming with things to say.  Now, I COULD write separate posts and put them up in the following days, and then not feel any pressure to write anything for a few days, but that just seems like cheating, and besides, I feel like writing it all down and sharing it now.

First up, what I shall now refer to as Obama Watch 2009!  Because, President Obama is so freaking fabulous that I just can’t help but gush about him all the time.  It’s sort of like having a high school crush.  I even told my husband that I’m in love with him – him being Obama, ha ha ha.  But seriously, could he be any more awesome?  I think not.  Let’s recap his latest and greatest.  Today, he signed the Lilly Ledbetter Act, which extends the amount of time a worker has to file a court case for disparate pay due to discrimination based on factors such as gender, race, religion, national origin, disability or age.  He pressured/shamed Citigroup into dropping out of a deal to buy a $50 million jet after receiving money under the economic stimulus package and blasted Wall Street CEOs for receiving huge bonuses when their companies are tanking.  Stick THAT up your pipe and smoke it!

Moving on to my next topic, today I had my first acupuncture treatment.  It was really great.  Here’s what I got out of it.  The root of all my health issues is tied into the dysfunction of my digestive system, which ties into blockages in my lower three chakras.  So, I need to get serious and start doing some work on them and finally heal myself completely.  Specifically, I got that I need to read Sacred Contracts by Caroline Myss.  So that is my mission, and I accept it.

Putting Mirabelle in ballet is the best thing I’ve ever done as a parent.  And not because I love to live vicariously through her (I think we’ve already established that I do).  No, it is because ballet is the dangling carrot that can be used in every want-to-rip-your-hair-out 3 yr old moment.  Here is a little peak at this marvelous tool of bribery.

Scenario 1

Mirabelle:  I don’t want to eat my broccoli!

Me:  You better eat your broccoli, or you’re not going to ballet.

Mirabelle:  (quickly eats broccoli)

Scenario 2

Mirabelle:  (running around naked and refusing to get her diaper/clothes on)

Me: Fine, run around, I don’t care if you go to ballet or not.

Mirabelle:  (runs straight to me and gets dressed)

Scenario 3

Mirabelle: (whining about something)

Me:  If you don’t stop whining, you’re not going to ballet.

Mirabelle: (shuts her mouth)

Ahhhhh, thank the Universe for ballet – keeping Mommy sane since 2008.

The Old Ball & Chain.  Now, I only bring this up because my husband keeps asking me when and what I’m going to write about him on this blog, so I am merely accomodating his query.  Plus, I have a friend who is going through a divorce right now, so her situation has been on my mind a lot too.  For example, I just had a fight with Greg.  But I’m not mad at him anymore.  We fought, we apologized, we moved on – all within about 10 minutes.  This has changed drastically from earlier in our marriage.  We used to have the worst, draining, exhausting, long lasting, bitter, brutal, epic fights.  I didn’t know people could fight like that and still love each other/want to still live with each other/want to still be married and spend the rest of their freakin’ lives together.  But we did and we do.  Mostly, we just had to get used to each other.  Learning to live with another person is rough.  But now, it’s pretty much smooth sailing.  Our fights even have an undertone of humor to them, like if one of us looked at the other in a certain way, or mentioned “that time in the antique store”, that we would/could bust up laughing.  I just can’t stay mad at that man.  The amazing thing about Greg is, I’ve never felt like our fights were life and death.  We could say the most terrible things to one another, and we would know the whole time that we are madly in love and here to stay.  I’ve never feared that we wouldn’t make it.  I can say that he is my rock, he is my best friend, he is the only person whose opinion I really care about.  He is the only person I can be truly vulnerable with – he has seen me at my worst and he still loves me, still chooses me.  I know I will always be able to count on him, and I know he will never betray me.  And he’s funny, very funny:)  He is my soulmate.  I love him.  So, I’m sorry I told you to fuck off babe, I think I’m PMSing…

Responses

  1. I’m HOT over Obama! I get a heart beat in my crotch when I see him walk, talk, or after a work out! I know, terrible, but I cannot deny my inner stirrings. 🙂

  2. he he 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

