Posted by: geminigoddess | January 25, 2009

Just Checking In…

For the last few months I’ve felt kind of checked out.  I don’t know if it was the hypnotic lull of winter (winter sucks ass! I can’t wait until summer when I can go outside every day and to the beach every weekend. Oh how I long for summer!);  or the mind numbing attack of yet-another-crappy-thing-that-BushCheney-did-while-in-office-that-made-me-have-to-shut-down-stop-listening-try-not-to-care-anymore-because-if-I-didn’t-it-would-make-me-go-homicidal-crazy; or the lack of social interaction; or the broken record incessant whining coming from a certain toddler I know; but whatever it was, I feel like checking in again.

“Why?”, you may ask.  Well, I’ll tell you.  In part because I LOVE THE OBAMAS!  Seriously!  Thank you!  No really!  I mean, it’s so refreshing!  I just saw a news feed that said Michelle Obama slammed Ty Dolls for making Beanie Babies named after Malia and Sasha and accused it of being exploitative.  Now that’s my kind of Mama!  And Barack has done more for this country in his first 3 days in office than (well I was going to say the Bush administration, until I realized I couldn’t think of one single good thing they did in the last eight years, oh wait, I’ve got it!  They left!), well, than even I expected him to.  Suspended war trials at Guantanamo AND plans on closing it in one year AND ordered an end to torture!  Ordered top military brass to formulate plan to get out of Iraq in 16 months!  Reinstated funding to family planning clinics and called for end of “politicization” of abortion!  Put a cap on pay for his top employees and called for transparency/ethics in his administration!  Ordered a freeze on all new federal regulations in an effort to stop the Bush administration’s “midnight regulations” run!  Can anyone say, Hallelujah!?

I have voted in every election I could since I turned eighteen, and I have been truly heartbroken by some of them, and this is the first time I have felt, oh what’s that word…HOPE.  It is so nice.  It is inspiring.  It makes me want to talk to the Big World out there again.  I’m not afraid to see the headlines from CNN.  I’m not ashamed to travel to another country (that would be assuming I had the money/time/au pair to take a vacation out of the country ha ha ha).

Now I know someone reading this may think to herself, “All politicians suck, nothing’s really going to change, blah, blah, blah…”, to which I say “WHATEVER!”  I’m choosing to be happy and optimistic and hopeful!  I am happy that as a group, Americans bought into hope instead of fear mongering.  I am optimistic that Obama can and will make some real change.  I am hopeful for my children’s future.  It makes me want to break out into full Beatle song and start dancing around my living room singing alternately “all you need is love” and “you may say I’m a dreamer, but I’m not the onlyone!  I hope someday you will join us, and the world will live as one.”  (That is, until somebody accidentally cuts me off in traffic and then s/he better watch out!)

The other part of why I feel like checking in again is that I need to take time for myself, lest I get sucked into the pitfalls of SAHMommydom which can arise from sheer boredom and repetitiveness.  And because I want to be a peaceful healer hippie, and I have been neither of those things lately, if what happened yesterday is any indication to you.

So, I am feeling inspired.  And woken up.  And I’m just checking in…

Responses

  1. This is the first time I must admit that I am watching the news channels. It’s not just us my MOM voted for the first time in her life!

  2. Wow, how great!

  3. I just read about the Obama dolls, too. Now there’s a mama who’s protecting her cubs! I would be fucking PISSED if someone exploited my children like that. Um, doesn’t she have “copyrights” to her children?!? 🙂 :0


Leave a Reply

Categories

